top of page

Design Project Paper

I wrote this paper for my ED 611 class, Theories of Teaching and Learning. The assignment was to write a short essay regarding my design of an ideal school and/or classroom.

Design Project Paper

Christine Knutson

Western Oregon University

Ideas are ways of being in the world.

­­ Pugh & Girod, 2007, p.14

The Design of My Ideal Elementary Classroom

This isn’t the first time that I’ve entertained thoughts and fantasized mockups of my ideal

classroom. Possibly this is common behavior of teachers­to­be, but it’s gratifying to draft mental arrangements and to strategize a thriving community of learners (Brown, 1994). In my ideal classroom I would not have to succumb to the pressures of an overcrowded room, nor would my students; one adult per eight students would be the adult­to­student ratio. In other words, the maximum student capacity for my ideal classroom would be twenty­four learners to two full­time teaching assistants. Having less students in the classroom is important because I want freedom for optimal socialization (Vygotsky, 1978), opportunities to build favorable motivational strategies (Boekaerts, 2002) and the framework needed to give students autonomy (Montessori, 1949/1995). Therefore, my classroom design is mostly embedded with a combination of the following theories: situative, motivational and cognitive.

The Classroom Layout

Instead of having individual desks in my classroom I’d arrange rectangular tables that could

seat up to six students per table. Students would have assigned tables but would be able to choose a different seat on a daily basis. This not only offers the students choice, but it may allow for opportunities of discussion among tablemates. Just as Montessori prescribed (Klein, n.d.) in her school, students would have child­size furniture in a homelike setting. Hanging from the chair backs would be oversized pockets labeled with the students’ individual names. The oversized pockets could easily be moved from chair to chair (I believe it is important for the students to have their own place to keep their writing utensils and other items). As far as a teacher’s desk, it would seem non­existent and off to the side; I want the aesthetic to reflect that learning is not teacher-­directed.

Visually speaking, the classroom would be full of color and devoid of clutter. Color would come from the students’ various works of art that I’d handsomely display from the ceilings and walls. I’d have discovery stations set up throughout the classroom by which students could have choice in learning. Off to the side would be a compliment card area. This area would allow for students to write down compliments for each other and place them in their individual mailboxes.

Specifically, my goal for the classroom atmosphere is to be comfortable and familiar. With ease, I want students to be able to find what they need, when they need it, and I will model for them trust by allowing them to help themselves. Although, in the beginning I will demonstrate for them how to move about the room finding the tools they need. I wish to set up my classroom so that it is always warm, inviting and mentally stimulating.

Classroom Etiquette

Within the first week of school classroom rules will be established, however in wanting to

grow a community of learners (Brown, 1994), the students will make the rules. I will simply be there to guide them. My guidance will include how to show respect to one another, how to share, how to converse with each other and how to show support to each other. I feel that by treating each other with respect, students will lay down the groundwork needed to be a functioning community. As Ann Brown said in her article “The Advancement of Learning” the principle behind a community of learners is to encourage students to take on roles much like a community of researchers (1994). By doing so, students could find themselves at heightened levels of synthesis within their exchange of ideas and collaborations.

More so, students will establish how they show respect to teachers and other school staff. We will also discuss how one shows respect to their caregivers and family members. A citizen of the world should respect everyone. It is my goal to encourage each and every student to become a world citizen. I will do this by modeling and by holding many discussions. We will discuss emotions such as empathy and sympathy. Every student will be supported and urged to express themselves so that we may enhance their interpersonal skills, as well as their intrapersonal skills.

Teacher­Student Relationships

Furthermore, my goal in relating to my students is to act as a gentle, trustworthy guide in

their journey of discovery. I feel that extrinsic rewards weakens bonds of trust because it changes the roles of teacher and student to that of gift giver and gift receiver. I don’t want students to become motivated by receiving my praise. In the pamphlet “Motivation to Learn” Monique Boekaerts states that learning is hindered when unfavorable motivational beliefs are established (2002), and once established these beliefs are hard to change (2002). My goal is to be able to have a relationship with my students that allows them to derive enjoyment from intrinsic motivations.

In other words, I will provide “process­oriented feedback” (Boekaerts, 2002) and encouragement to augment their learning and solidify my role as a trustworthy guide. I will change teaching strategies often and employ various teaching methods (Willingham, 2008) to ensure more successful learning. Students will be assessed on their learning growth by means of a working portfolio, not by means of test grades. Student assignments will ask for predictions: “How much effort is needed to complete this task?” (Boekaerts, 2002) so that they can practice self­efficacy in their learning process.

Pedagogical Goals Most importantly, every morning I will greet the students as they come into the classroom. I

will make calls to their house to inform their caregivers of their progress. I will give students time to play and exercise. Exploration will be key. Discovery is mandatory. My ideal classroom would be a safe haven for creativity and expression. Within the four walls students would know that making mistakes leads to greater knowledge. I’d help students craft favorable motivational beliefs (Boekaerts, 2002) to ensure their learning success.

Even more, diversity would be celebrated and songs would be sung. As a whole class, we’d discuss how the brain operates and the idea of brain­based learning (Diaz­Rico & Weed, 2010). My goal is to enable students to learn about themselves and who they are as a learner. I want them to recognize their strengths and identify areas they wish to improve. They will have confidence in their abilities without anxieties over taking tests or approaching challenges. We’ll discuss multiple intelligences (Moran, Kornhaber & Gardner, 2006) so that each student can realize how truly complex they are as a thinking human being. Effort will be embraced.

My ideal classroom will grow citizens of the world who will then change the world.

References

Boekaerts, M. (2002). Motivation to learn. Educational practices series; 10. Geneva, Switzerland:

International Bureau of Education. Retrieved from

http://www .ibe.unesco.org/fileadmin/user_upload/archive/publications/EducationalPractices

SeriesPdf/prac10e.pdf

Brown, A. L. (1994). The advancement of learning. Educational Researcher, 23(8), 4­12. Retrieved from

http://www .jstor.org/discover/10.2307/1176856?uid=3739856&uid=2&uid=4&uid=373925

6&sid=21102928721227

Diaz­Rico, L.T., & Weed, K.Z. (2010). The crosscultural, language, and academic development handbook: A complete K­12 reference guide (Fourth ed.). New Jersey:Pearson Education.

Klein, A. S. (n.d.). Different approaches to teaching: comparing three preschool programs. Earlychildhood NEWS. Retrieved from http://www .earlychildhoodnews.com/earlychildhood/article_view .aspx?ArticleID=367

Montessori, M. (1995). The absorbent mind. (C. Claremont, Trans.). New York, NY: Henry Holt and Company. (Reprinted from The absorbent mind by M. Montessori, 1949, New York, NY: Holt, Rinehart and Winston)

Moran, S., Kornhaber, M., & Gardner, H. (2006). Orchestrating multiple intelligences. Educational Leadership, 64 (1), 22­27. Retrieved from ED 611 pdf file.

Pugh,K. & Girod, M. (2007). Science, art, and experience: Constructing a science pedagogy from Dewey’s aesthetics. Journal of Science Teacher Education, 18.

Vygotsky, L. (1978). Interaction between learning and development. In M. Cole and M. Gauvain (Eds.), Readings on the development of children (pp. 29­36), New York, NY: W.

H. Freeman and Company.

Willingham, D.T. (2008). Ask the cognitive scientist: What is developmentally appropriate

practice? American Educator,(summer).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page